Charles Sauriol Leadership Award

Charles Sauriol Leadership Award 2018

The Charles Sauriol Leadership Award is currently closed. Read about our 2018 award winner here

The Charles Sauriol Leadership Award celebrates an individual for their inspiring leadership and lasting contributions to the conservation sector.


Charles Sauriol (1904-1995) was an author, conservationist, environmentalist, historian and lecturer. He was an advocate for preserving both the cultural and environmental value and heritage of Toronto’s Don River. Charles Sauriol co-founded the Don Valley Conservation Association (DVCA) and sat on the executive board of the Metropolitan Toronto and Region Conservation Authority (known today as Toronto and Region Conservation Authority).

In honour of Charles Sauriol’s memory and legacy, Toronto and Region Conservation Foundation celebrates the vision, dedication and long-time contributions of today’s conservation leaders with the Charles Sauriol Leadership Award. You can read more about Charles Sauriol’s life and work here


Eligible nominees include but are not limited to TRCA’s partners, supporters and peers in the following areas:

  • Government
  • Community
  • Business
  • Philanthropy
  • Education

Nominees must be affiliated in some way with TRCA or its fundraising arm, Toronto and Region Conservation Foundation.

Nomination Process

To make a nomination, please fill out the form at end of this page.

Submission Deadline

Nomination forms must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, September 27, 2018.

Selection and Award

Nominations will be evaluated based on the breadth, scope and lasting impact of the nominee’s leadership and contributions to the conservation sector. An award decision will be made in early October.

The winner will be presented with their award at the 25th Annual Living City Environmental Dinner being held on Thursday, November 1st, 2018. They will also be recognized in a special spotlight feature on Toronto and Region Conservation Foundation’s website.